For Immediate Release:
Wednesday, June 17, 2020

William Stander, (850) 212-3250

The Florida Police Chiefs Association Names Members of New Subcommittee on Accountability and Societal Change
Cites 8 Can’t Wait Guidelines as Starting Point

Tallahassee, Fla. – The Florida Police Chiefs Association (FPCA) today announced the initial members of its newly formed Subcommittee on Accountability and Societal Change, and cited the 8 Can’t Wait guidelines as a starting point for the subcommittee’s discussions.

FPCA president and Temple Terrace Police Department Chief Kenneth Albano said, “The Florida Police Chiefs Association is committed to leading the way for constructive change and rebuilding trust and accountability between law enforcement and the communities they serve.”

The law enforcement members named to the subcommittee are:

  • Chair: Chief Anthony Holloway. St. Petersburg Police Department
  • Assistant Commissioner Jennifer Pritt, Florida Department of Law Enforcement Chief Michael Gregory, Boynton Beach Police Department
  • Chief Daniel Slaughter, Clearwater Police Department
  • Chief Orlando Rolón, Orlando Police Department
  • Chief Brian Dugan, Tampa Police Department
  • Chief Charles Broadway, Clermont Police Department
  • Chief Cecil Smith, Sanford Police Department
  • Chief Terri Brown, Florida State University Police Department
  • Chief Dexter Williams, Miramar Police Department and president, Broward County Association of Chiefs of Police
  • Major David De La Espriella, Miami Beach Police Department and president, Miami-Dade County Association of Chiefs of Police
  • Dr. Lorie Fridell, professor and subject matter expert on use of force, Department of Criminology, University of South Florida

Chief Holloway directed each subcommittee member to invite a community leader of their choosing to join the subcommittee and ensure that the subcommittee has the full and unvarnished input of a variety of responsible voices.

Said Albano, “Today I’m pleased to announce that as its first action, the FPCA’s Subcommittee on Accountability and Societal Change cited the 8 Can’t Wait plan as a starting point for its deliberations. In an effort to increase consistency, accountability, and transparency, we intend to begin working on best practices language, using the 8 Can’t Wait plan as a guide, to create standardized procedures that can be implemented statewide.”

Said Albano, “In particular, and to be clear, the FPCA denounces racism, discriminatory practices of any kind, and the unwarranted use of any level of force, but especially deadly force.”

Said Albano, “This is just the beginning. Moving forward, next steps will include working with the community leaders participating on this subcommittee, as well as our citizenry across the state, to address a myriad of societal issues and concerns that continue to contribute to the creation of negative encounters between members of our communities and their police officers.”

About the Florida Police Chiefs Association
The Florida Police Chiefs Association (FPCA) is the nation’s pre-eminent law enforcement professional association, speaking for more than 900 of Florida’s top law enforcement executives, and providing guidance and leadership for the future of law enforcement and our communities. The FPCA serves municipal, airport, college and university, and tribal police departments, as well as private businesses and security firms and federal, state and county law enforcement agencies across every region of the state. For more information about the FPCA, please visit