

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Contact:

William Stander, (850) 212-3250, william@williamstander.com

Florida Police Chiefs Association Announces Law Enforcement Award Winners for 2023

Tallahassee, Fla. – The Florida Police Chiefs Association (FPCA) announced the 2023 William B. Berger Outstanding Chief Executive of the Year and a series of additional awards and recognitions at the FPCA's 72nd Annual Summer Training Conference and Exposition held in Ponte Vedra Beach, FL.

Highlighting the evening was an address by keynote speaker State Attorney Susan "Suzy" Lopez. Attorney Lopez is responsible for all criminal prosecutions in the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit of Hillsborough County. She detailed efforts by her office to better bridge the understanding gap between officers and prosecutors, including "Bridging the Badge" where new police recruits come and spend the day in the State Attorney's office, and similarly requiring every attorney in her office to participate in a ride-along with an officer. Attorney Lopez also stressed her office's efforts prosecuting retail theft.

After making the awards as his last acts as FPCA president, Clermont Police Department Charles "Chuck" Broadway said, "The accomplishments of each of the individuals and agencies recognized this year embody the highest ideals of our noble and honorable profession. On behalf of the FPCA, we recognize their exceptional contributions and thank them for leading the way on public safety in Florida."

The William B. Berger Outstanding Chief Executive of the Year and the Outstanding Command Officer of the Year awards recognize individuals for exceptional performance and support and advancement of the law enforcement profession. The recipients were:

- Chief Executive of the Year Chief Todd Garrison, North Port Police Department
- Command Officer of the Year Deputy Chief Michael Suleski, Tallahassee Police Department

FPCA recognizes that law enforcement is a team effort, including non-sworn personnel serving in many and sometimes multiple roles. Nominations for these recently created awards surged this year, and the recipients of these awards based on agency size were:

Civilian Employee of the Year

- Ashley Smith, Clewiston Police Department, Small Agency
- Katherine Hofmeister, Marco Island Police Department, Medium Agency
- Melissa Clanton, Palm Beach Gardens Police Department, Large Agency

Sponsoring the Civilian Employee of the Year Awards was the West Central Florida Regional Police Chiefs Association.

Dispatcher of the Year

• Mandy Lorenz, North Port Police Department, Large Agency

Administrative Assistant of the Year

- Stefani Kuhn, Orange Park Police Department, Small Agency
- Lisa Scott, Stuart Police Department, Medium Agency
- Kelly Adkisson, Clearwater Police Department, Large Agency

Sponsoring the Administrative Assistant of the Year Awards was the Miami-Dade County Association of Chiefs of Police.

The Lee McGehee Police Officer of the Year Awards recognize individual officers for outstanding police work, also according to agency size. The recipients were:

- Sergeant Kendall Reyes, Palm Beach Police Department, Medium Agency
- Detective Matthew Aiken, Miami Beach Police Department, Large Agency

Sponsoring the Lee McGehee Police Officer of the Year Awards was Publix Super Markets, Inc.

The Rocky Pomerance Excellence in Policing Awards recognize member agencies that develop and implement innovative approaches to policing. The recipients were:

- Marco Island Police Department, Medium Agency
- Clermont Police Department, Large Agency

Sponsoring the Rocky Pomerance Excellence in Policing Awards was United Badges Insurance Services.

The recipient of the FPCA's President's Award for exceptional service to FPCA was:

• Karen and Doug Monda

The Public Private Partnership Committee's (PPPC) Operation Cooperation Award recognizes excellence in private sector partnerships with law enforcement agencies working together to address community needs and enhance public safety. The recipients were:

• Elks Lodge #2159 and the Largo Police Department

The PPPC Glen Mowrey Pillars of Success Award recognizes individuals who previously served as law enforcement officers and who have successfully transitioned to the private sector. The recipient was:

• Retired Chief Jorge Colina, Jorge Colina Group, LLC

The PPPC Fallen Hero Award recognizes the contributions of private sector security officers to public safety, specifically those who die in the line of duty, while performing authorized security functions. This is the first such award in nine years. The recipient was:

• Ed Mead, High Point Homeowners Association Security

Sponsoring the PPPC Awards were the Integration Association of Florida and the Security Industry Alarm Coalition.

About the Florida Police Chiefs Association

The Florida Police Chiefs Association (FPCA) is the nation's pre-eminent law enforcement professional association, speaking for over 1,300 of Florida's top law enforcement executives, and providing guidance and leadership for the future of law enforcement and our communities. The FPCA serves municipal, airport, college and university, and tribal police departments, as well as private businesses and security firms and federal, state and county law enforcement agencies across every region of the state. For more information about the FPCA, please visit <u>www.fpca.com</u>.

###