

For Immediate Release:

Thursday, June 20, 2024

Contact:

William Stander, (850) 212-3250, william@williamstander.com

Florida Police Chiefs Association Announces 2024 Legislators of the Year

Tallahassee, Fla. – The Florida Police Chiefs Association (FPCA) announced the 2024 Legislators of the Year and several special awards at the FPCA's 72nd Annual Summer Training Conference and Exposition awards banquet held in Ponte Vedra Beach, FL.

"The Florida Police Chiefs Association is honored to recognize those public servants who have proven themselves to be dedicated, battle-tested supporters of law and order and the law enforcement profession," said FPCA President and Tampa International Airport Police Department Chief Charles Vazquez. "This year, we're pleased to recognize both longtime supporters and emerging champions of law enforcement."

"With the leadership of these legislators, our collaborative efforts in the halls of the Capitol have enhanced officer wellness, funded professional training, and promoted public safety," said FPCA Immediate Past President Clermont Police Department Chief Charles "Chuck" Broadway.

Receiving the awards were:

2024 Legislators of the Year

Representative Danny Alvarez – Commissioned as an infantry officer in the United States Army in 1997, Rep. Alvarez was a performing member of the Silver Wings, the Army's oldest parachute demonstration and skydiving team, and retired honorably after six years of service. A lawyer, he was elected in 2022 to represent

House District 69 covering eastern Hillsborough County, and serves on seven committees including the Energy, Communications & Cybersecurity Subcommittee. Since his election, he has filed bills to encourage the reemployment of retired law enforcement officers by allowing them to receive both compensation and retirement benefits, thereby helping fill the recruiting and retention gap.

Representative Chuck Brannan – A retired Chief Investigator from the Baker County Sheriff's Office and former Deputy United States Marshal, Rep. Brannan was elected to House District 10 in 2018. His district stretches over five rural counties in northeast Florida, and he serves on five committees, including as Chair of the Justice Appropriations Committee. Rep. Brannan has previously sponsored FPCA policy priorities, including the Anti-Swatting legislation, and this year was instrumental in securing funding for professional executive training for new chiefs.

Senator Jay Collins – Sen. Collins is a highly decorated Army Special Forces combat veteran and inspiring non-profit leader. In 2022, he answered the call to public service once again, winning election to Tampa's Senate District 14. He has sponsored numerous, unique pieces of legislation with a focus on law enforcement and public safety, on topics like first responder exposure to fentanyl, cybersecurity, officer training on autism, and peer support for correctional officers. He has also secured substantial funding to improve the lives of not only the citizens in his district, but those of first responders and veterans across Florida.

2024 Law Enforcement & Public Safety Champions

Representative Keith L. Truenow – A farmer who also served four years in the U.S. Air Force, Rep. Truenow was elected in 2020 to represent the Tavares – Leesburg area, of House District 26, and currently chairs the House Criminal Justice Subcommittee. A staunch public safety advocate, he has repeatedly sponsored important legislation including protecting law enforcement databases from unauthorized access and use, addressing first responder exposure to fentanyl and retail theft, and imposing penalties for "street shutdown" racing.

Representative Taylor Yarkosky – Rep. Yarkosky is a contractor, licensed armed security officer and firearms instructor, and certified range safety officer. Elected in 2022 to represent parts of Lake County in House District 25, he's quickly established himself as a public safety leader, supporting and sponsoring bills on child trafficking, firearms training facilities, and law enforcement operations.

Guardian and Warrior Executive Director Awards

The Guardian and Warrior Executive Director Awards were established for FPCA to recognize those public servants who have made special contributions and shown a steadfast commitment to protecting law and order and upholding our constitutional liberties, or an emerging leader who has shown dedication to the values the FPCA holds dear – commitment to service, professionalism, integrity, and accountability.

Senate President Pro Tempore Dennis Baxley – A funeral director by trade, Sen. Baxley is truly a man dedicated to public service, having served in the Florida House of Representatives from 2000-2007 and again from 2010-2016. He was then elected to the Senate District 16 seat representing Lake County and West Orange County. Sen. Baxley is the only person to have served as leader Pro Tempore in

both the Florida House and Senate. His presence as a member of successive leadership teams is a testament to the skill, temperament, and trustworthiness he brought to the role. Sen. Baxley has long championed FPCA's priorities, and he will be a dearly missed friend at the Capitol as he finishes his term of service.

Deputy House Majority Leader John Snyder – Rep. Snyder is a business owner who was elected to House District 86 in 2020, representing portions of Palm Beach and Martin counties. A veteran of the U.S. Marine Corps who deployed to Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom, he currently serves on five committees. As a member of the House leadership team, he has worked to keep public safety legislation on track through the lawmaking process and sponsored bills as well, including most recently on probation and community control.

Law Dog - Lawyer of the Year

Attorney General Ashley Moody – Elected statewide in 2018 as Florida's top law enforcement officer, General Moody has devoted her entire career to enforcing our laws and preserving the safety of our communities. From her work prosecuting drug offenses with the U.S. Attorney's office, to her tenure on the Thirteenth Circuit Court as the youngest judge in Florida, and now as Florida's Attorney General, she has proven herself as a dedicated public servant who cares about law enforcement officers and their families. A recipient of multiple FPCA recognitions, General Moody launched and continues to promote her "Be A Florida Hero" officer recruitment initiative and "#BackTheBlue" officer recognition program, among other shining examples of her leadership on behalf of law enforcement.

About the Florida Police Chiefs Association

The Florida Police Chiefs Association (FPCA) is the nation's pre-eminent law enforcement professional association, speaking for over 1,300 of Florida's top law enforcement executives, and providing guidance and leadership for the future of law enforcement and our communities. The FPCA serves municipal, airport, college and university, and tribal police departments, as well as private businesses and security firms and federal, state and county law enforcement agencies across every region of the state. For more information about the FPCA, please visit www.fpca.com.

###